Click here to download the Travel Award Application

Upcoming Events

 

2021 Community Forum Series

We are currently looking for people that are interested in facilitating community forums for 2021. Currently we are looking at doing one about every other month. If you are interested, please contact Scott Donnelly donnelly@2yc3.org

 

Friday January 29th 10 am PT / 11 am MT / noon CT / 1 pm ET

Community Forum 60 minutes - Register Here

Hibernating Bears, Migrating Salmon, Sheep that Eat Seaweed, and Food (Fraud): A Different Approach to Teaching General and Organic Chemistry

A picture containing person, outdoor

Description automatically generated

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scott Donnelly M.S.

Topics include but not limited to: 
The metabolic marvel of bear hibernation
Use of stable isotopes to understand animal migration and/or diet
Osmoregulation of the migrating Pacific salmon
Relating the use of pug marks in tiger identification to spectroscopy
Smorgasbord of chemistry related to food, cooking, and fraud

 

Scott Donnelly is a Chemistry Professor at Arizona Western College in Yuma, AZ. He is also serving Chair of the 2YC3 for 2021.

 

2021 Online Conferences:

Interested in presenting? Have an idea? Would you like to be a coordinator for a future online conference? Contact Scott Donnelly (donnelly@2yc3.org), Your experience is valuable, and we would love for you to share it with us!

 

226th 2YC3 Conference Spring 2021 April-May 2021

227th 2YC3 Conference Fall 2021 October-November 2021

 

2022 In-Person Conferences

Our traditional events are small, regional affairs (~100 people) with low registration costs (~$50 not including membership for $25). Come join us for these two-day events where you can meet other community college chemistry instructors in person! These events are tentatively planned, with the current health crisis in mind. If you would like to host a conference (and we would LOVE for you to) please email Kathy Carrigan at kcarriga@pcc.edu

 

228th 2YC3 Conference Tentative Spring 2022

Rochester Community and Technical College in Rochester, Minnesota

 

27th Biennial Conference on Chemical Education Summer 2022

Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana

 

229th 2YC3 Conference Tentative Fall 2022

Wake Tech Community College, Southern Wake Campus; Raleigh, North Carolina

Past 2020 Events

 

Videos, supporting information and minutes for all events held in 2020 are available here to current members. Please consider becoming a member today.